How I Started Approaching My Photo Archive Like a Pro

Photofocus (old site)

I have a theory, that says people only get concerned about data backup after they lost everything. Until that moment, you carelessly load your images onto a single hard drive, assume all is okay in the world, and only move onto the next hard drive when that one is filled. Well, someday, you’re going to lose it all.

My Major Failure

For me, it was my first year and a half of work in the digital medium. Prior to then, I was naive, only shooting film and thinking the only way I could lose images is if I screwed up on exposure or development. Aside from that, I kept my developed film in an envelope somewhere, and I had them forever. I then made the transition to digital.

When I decided I wanted to investigate photography further than a hobby, I purchased a Canon 40D. It was a whole new…

View original post 774 more words

Leave a Reply

